Moving your OnSite server

Do this if your current computer specifications are not compatible with the operating system that you want to upgrade to and you need to move your OnSite database to another computer.

For OnSite 3.8 to 3.9.8, and 2015 1.0 and later

For OnSite 3.7.0 - 3.7.6

1. To back up your OnSite database

  1. You will likely want to do this procedure after business hours so that you don't disrupt your business. Have all users exit OnSite.
  2. Run a manual backup from Tools > Utilities > Backup Database.
  3. Wait for the backup to complete.
  4. When the backup is complete copy Lightspeed Server Nightly Backup.lightspeedBackup from the Macintosh HD/Users/Shared/LightSpeed/Backups/_Latest folder to any external media such as a hard drive or USB keys and transfer it to the desktop of the new computer.

2. To remove the server to release the license key

Make sure you have an active internet connection for this process.

  1. From the Apple Menu click System Preferences > LightSpeed Server. Record your Lightspeed serial number as you will need to enter it later.
  2. To unlock System Preferences, click the lock at the lower left of the System Preferences window and enter your Mac password.
  3. Select Lightspeed Server in the left window pane and from the Action gear choose Stop Server.
  4. When the database has stopped from the Action gear choose Remove Server.

After the database is deleted your license key is released.

3. To install OnSite on the new computer

Download OnSite from http://www.lightspeedpos.com/onsite/downloads/

Complete the installation.

4. To restore your OnSite database

  1. From the Apple menu click System Preferences > Lightspeed Server.
  2. Right-click Lightspeed Server and select Stop Server.
  3. Right-click Lightspeed again and select Restore Backup. In the file browser window, locate the backup you transferred from the old server and click Open.
  4. After the restore progress spinner disappears, right-click Lightspeed Server and select Start Server.
  5. Log in to OnSite.

5. To uninstall the previous OnSite version

  1. Download the Lightspeed Server Removal Tool.
  2. Double-click it to expand the archive, if not done automatically by your web browser.
  3. Double-click Uninstall Lightspeed Server and click the Uninstall button, entering your user password when requested.
  4. Restart the computer.

For OnSite 3.6 - 3.6.8

1. To back up your OnSite database

  1. You will likely want to do this procedure after business hours so that you don't disrupt your business. Have all users exit OnSite.
  2. Run a manual backup from Tools > Utilities > Backup Database.
  3. Wait for the backup to complete.
  4. When the backup is complete copy the most recent backup from the Macintosh HD/Users/Shared/LightSpeed/Backups/_Latest folder to any external media such as a hard drive or USB keys and transfer it to the desktop of the new computer. There can be additional folders such as server2 and server3 so check the time stamp of the backup file.

2. To remove the server to release the license key

Make sure you have an active internet connection for this process.

  1. From the Apple Menu click System Preferences > LightSpeed Server. Record your Lightspeed serial number as you will need to enter it later.
  2. To unlock System Preferences, click the lock at the lower left of the System Preferences window and enter your Mac password.
  3. Select Lightspeed Server in the left window pane and from the Action gear choose Stop Server.
  4. When the database has stopped from the Action gear choose Remove Server.

After the database is deleted your license key is released.

3. To install OnSite on the new computer

Download OnSite from http://www.lightspeedpos.com/onsite/downloads/

Complete the installation.

4. To restore your OnSite database

  1. From the Apple menu click System Preferences > Lightspeed Server.
  2. Right-click Lightspeed Server and select Stop Server.
  3. Right-click Lightspeed again and select Restore Backup. In the file browser window, locate the backup you transferred from the old server and click Open.
  4. After the restore progress spinner disappears, right-click Lightspeed Server and select Start Server.
  5. Log in to OnSite.

5. To uninstall the previous OnSite version

  1. Download the Lightspeed Server Removal Tool.
  2. Double-click it to expand the archive, if not done automatically by your web browser.
  3. Double-click Uninstall Lightspeed Server and click the Uninstall button, entering your user password when requested.
  4. Restart the computer.

For OnSite 3.0 - 3.5.6

For these versions of OnSite contact Lightspeed Support to release your license key manually. After Support has released your license key you can migrate your database to the new server.

1. To back up your OnSite database

  1. You will likely want to do this procedure after business hours so that you don't disrupt your business. Have all users exit OnSite.
  2. Run a manual backup from Tools > Utilities > Backup Database.
  3. Wait for the backup to complete. Confirm the backup has completed by opening the Console application at Macintosh HD/Applications/Utilities. The last couple of lines will confirm that the backup has successfully started and completed.
  4. When the backup is complete copy the most recent backup from the Macintosh HD/Users/Shared/Lightspeed/Backups/server1 folder to any external media such as a hard drive or USB keys and transfer it to the desktop of the new computer. There can be additional folders such as server2 and server3 so check the time stamp of the backup file.

2. To install OnSite on the new computer

Download OnSite from http://www.lightspeedpos.com/onsite/downloads/

Complete the installation.

3. To restore your OnSite database

  1. From the Apple menu click System Preferences > Lightspeed Server.
  2. Select the blank database you just installed, and click Stop.

  3. Click Restore Backup, find the backup you transferred from the old server, select it and click Open.

  4. Wait a few minutes and then click Start to start your Lightspeed Server. You can first the restore has completed by opening the Console application at Macintosh HD/Applications/Utilities.

4. To uninstall the previous OnSite version

  1. Download the Lightspeed Server Removal Tool.
  2. Double-click it to expand the archive, if not done automatically by your web browser.
  3. Double-click Uninstall Lightspeed Server and click the Uninstall button, entering your user password when requested.
  4. Restart the computer.
Have more questions? Submit a request || || Request a callback