Keeping OnSite safe

Logging in and out

In a sales environment there's often more than one sales person using the same POS station, and it's important to be able to track the sales representatives assigned to an invoice for commissions, accountability, and coverage. When a sales person finishes an invoice and leaves the POS station, they can log out quickly so that the next sales person can log in.

To log out, click the Action menu at the top right of the POS screen, and choose Log Out (username). After you click OK, you go to the Login screen, and the POS is ready for the next user to log in. Information on the POS screen is deleted when a user logs out.

There is a feature of the Point of Sale mode that is similar to the Retail function of requiring and PIN before each sale. If you navigate to Tools>Setup>Point of Sale>Point of Sale there is an option to “Auto Logout after each sale”. This will add a layer of security and will speed up the process of having multiple sales people using the same POS station. Saves about 3 clicks (action menu, logout, OK button).

Know what's going on at all times

See the actions each user did and if the resulting permission was allowed or denied. You can also use a Smart Find in the privilege log to filter out results, which makes it easier to find what you’re looking for, and see what employees did.

Keep passwords fresh and safe

In OnSite you have the option to not have passwords expire after 90 days in Tools > Setup > Basics > Users. You can choose to use this setting only for your trusted employees, and to prevent your system from possible compromise.

Guard your cash drawer

This is accomplished in Tools > Setup > Basics > Payment Methods, cash drawer checkbox. In user privileges there is also an open cash drawer setting that you can enable or not depending on the level of trust you have in your employees.

A backup at day keeps the doctor away

Regular backups are essential to keeping your Lightspeed OnSite store healthy. Backups are the only way to revert any changes that had been done through Set Selling Prices or Set Product Info or any other system-wide mistakes. They are also absolutely invaluable to Lightspeed Support. Having backups ensures that we can reproduce a customer’s setup in a controlled environment, which makes it easier to fix problems. Backing up to the local hard drive is recommended, so that you don’t need to play with file permissions. We recommend that you back up the backups folder to an external source. Backups are managed in System Preferences> Lightspeed Server>backup tab. This is where the schedule can be setup. Backups are stored in /Users/Shared/LightSpeed/Backups.

Have more questions? Submit a request || || Request a callback